The Dawson Creek club began in 1955, thanks to Mrs. Pat Underhill. Some of the first members were Fay Vandergrift (Clease), Terry Meeres, and Leonard Pever. Archie Field, Bud Geer, and Pat Underhill were the executive until 1960, when official officers were established.

The Dawson Creek Club was the founder of the B.C. Speedskating Association, which was formed in 1956 with Bud Geer as President. This made Dawson Creek the center of Speed Skating in B.C. It was the second club to be formed in Western Canada.

The club has hosted many fun and high performance meets over the years and still does. It has developed high performance athletes, many of whom have had the experience of competing at Provincial, National, and Olympic levels and having success!

More than that, the club has developed confidence, sportsmanship, and long last friendships with all of its members, no matter what level they skated at.